Kelso alone sux big time- Mtbr.com

Apr 2004

Idea! Kelso alone sux big time

I have been riding Kelso for 3 years and as far as I know I can ride it back and forth within ~30 - 45 min and that is it. Last year they increased the price for bikers from $3.50 to $6!!!! crazy. They claim they made new trails. BUT WHERE? Maybe somehow I cannot find them but I was trying hard. Often I ride the trail that is closed for bikers the one along the escrapment (EASTERN WALL). I think it's the most desent one in the area.

BUT ALL THAT WAS NOT MY POINT.

I was bored with Kelso I tried to explore the area. Around there are 2 other plases really nice to ride. The Rattle Snake Point, and Crawfort lake. I know that I can not ride there but I found out that if you enter via hidden entrances and pass quickly and won't kill anyone on your way - nobody complains.

So I did experiment couple of times and entered Crawford Lake from the Guelph Line just 1km south of the main entrance there is a "wild" enterance. There is atleast 5-8km ride there. Mix of gravel, forest,and stoney technical ride. From there I go to the Rattle Snake.
    I enter that trail from the escrapment side where it is connecting with Craford Lake triail.
    To go from Crawford Lake to Rattle Snake, I have to walk steep downhil to the bottom of the ecsrapment then walk or ride it steep uphill
    It's is a fast ride via Rattle Snake.Lots of logs across the path. Mostly single trail,not to many people there. 0 -1 bikers. Then I exit via the main entrance so the security won;t catch me hehe. Comming along ApplebyLine I go to Kelso. I enter the trails on the right side of the Appleby Line past Steels Ave and ride the Kelso for another hour or 2 until I'm dehydrated .In my opinion this is the real adventure for atleast 4-6 hours. Too bad illegal and too good not to many people do that.
    Jack
    PS: sorry for gramma errors.

Space for rent...

Jacek, do me a favour..........

....sell your bike and find another sport.