How to stay warm AND dry?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

How to stay warm AND dry?

I've been winter biking for a few years now and have built up a decent collection of cold weather gear. But this is my first year commuting to work by bike and as the weather gets cooler, I'm having a hard time staying comfortable.
    One key piece that I am lacking is a good and proper cycling jacket. I have a shell that I've always worn over various layers of vests, merino wool, etc which worked out great in the woods for weekend rides. But how do I survive the stop and go, freeze and sweat of commuting? I am thinking it's time to finally invest in a cycling jacket, but as the good ones are not cheap I want to make sure I get the right one. As I'm not sure what I need/don't need, I am turning to vast wealth of knowledge, experience and colourful opinions of the forum.
    Go on, educate me!
    I love riding my bike!

mtbr member
    I did the daily commute for about 5 years (all year, 11km each way, 30-45 minutes).

I never got super technical with my clothing, but what I found was that it was rarely perfect.

For jackets that I use for anything that is 'higher output', armpit vents are a feature I always look for. Very effective at getting some airflow through when it gets too hot (prevent sweating, which is was always a goal, warm but not sweating or no moisture build up). You'll want seam sealed with reflective bands as well.

I actually wore a warm vest for a large chunk of the year. I found it to be my favorite commuting garment. Kept my core warm, but I could stay cool with my arms exposed.

A trick that used to work for me in general, especially in the cool months, especially if I happened to over dress. I would completely open my jacket for the first 5 minutes of the ride, get borderline shivering, then seal it all up. I would warm up just fine, but never get too hot.
    Straight outta Rossland

mtbr member