Do you often get frustrated by drivers- Mtbr.com

Mar 2004

Do you often get frustrated by drivers

While I do realize that a lot of drivers in Toronto are very impatience, which is a very bad habit and can be hazardous to others on the street. I think people should know that traffic laws apply to anyone while on the road, not matter you're on 4 wheels or 2 wheels, with or without an engine. But a lot of people doesn't seems to know that bicycles are also considered as vehicle. Would you ask a motorcyclist to pull over to the sidewalk so you can make your right turn. I've been ask several times to do it, which I gladly did. But those drivers would never show a gesture of appreciation instead of a 'you're in my way' kind of attitude on their face. As a driver myself I understand there are some un-considerate cyclists out there that would give me a bit of frustration. So when I'm on my bike I always try to aviod narrow busy street which would get the already impatience drivers more impatience. And now I always stop a least one car space behind the crossing line so the right turning drivers won't get mad. But still I do believe that, once again, the same rules apply to everyone who is using the road and not because I'm on a bike I should be treated differently. I could recall that everytime when being asked to pull over to sidewalk I do feel a bit sour but never feel mad, until today. That this mid-age lady in her shiny SUV behind me, with that 'you're in my way' attitude of course, horn me while I'm on a god damn street in which the side of it was marked for bicycle use. People should start understand the fact that cyclists are not a group of people that are SUPPOSE to be on the side walk and trying to take over the street from them. Sorry for the complain.

almost there!

Cool-blue Rhythm I think you're too polite...