Chain lube- Mtbr.com

Thread: Chain lube

mtbr member
    Jul 2016

Chain lube

Hi,

I'm new to mountain biking and am looking to get a decent chain lube. I've searched in the forums and there are a lot of threads, but they all seem to be posts from the southern US and talk about products I've never heard of, such as Rock n Roll gold, or blue. Are these available here at bike shops?

So far from reading different posts, I have figured out that a wax based lube is best. Especially if riding on dirt and dusty trails. So, what is everyone in Southern Ontario using?
    Is their anything good at Crappy tire or should I visit my local bike retailer?

X-Ray Guy
    I go between Pro Gold Prolink Chain lube (most of the time) and Tri Flow Lube for wet/muddy situations.

Lube is pretty much personal preferance from what ive learned. But getting it from an LBS or MEC is advisable and not crappy tire

Rocking on a Rocky
    :thumbsup:It doesn't matter what I ride as long as I ride it Rubber Side Down●~●.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Whatever product you do get, (and you are right there are tons of different products out there and according to the marketing each and every one is the best!).

If possible I'd choose one for dry conditions and one for wet and as Jawz and RockyJo1 both gave suggestions first maybe try those.

Biggest thing regardless of brand is try not to over-lube. I put my bike in my work stand (lean it against the wall) and shake my bottle of lube, sit on the ground and apply 1 drop to each link individually starting with the Master Link. It takes all of a minute, and I have not made a mess, nor wasted any lube. I slowly spin the chain through the gears a bit and let it sit.

I try to do this a couple hours before a ride or at least the day before if possible, this gives the lube time to get into all the nooks of the chain and set up/do its thing.
    Somewhere lost in the Bush!

mtbr member
    Jul 2016