Electric mtn bike; what should I look for ?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2008

Electric mtn bike; what should I look for ?

Hi, I'm new to mountain biking. In Ottawa area near Gatineau Hills, Quebec, Canada.

I bought a recumbent bike 7 years ago, and converted it to electric with a 1.7 HP front hub motor. Wonderful speed, 35+ MPH, handling and some other issues were subpar however.

Bought a $15 20" wheel "Triumph Rave" kids mtn bike for my son from thrift store, but he needs to grow another year or two for it, so I tried the motor on this bike. Works wonderfully, but a bit small. Added a longer seat post, and a comfortable seat, and some bar ends and it's not too bad, but I really need an adult bike I guess.

I'm looking to buy something inexpensive used, like in the $100-$600 range or so, to add my electrics to. I see some XC bikes well reviewed in the $300-$600 range new. At this point, I don't even know too well the differences between XC, DH, All Mtn etc.

My first thoughts were just that I needed a bike that does well in city, as well as dirt/mud/gravel roads. But heck, Gatineau Hills mountain bike trails start almost at the end of my street a few miles away, so maybe I should try some "real mtn biking". But my priority is comfort and safety on streets and mild trails, as well as electric compatibility.

For electric biking, I don't need good gears or shifters. I mostly pedal only if electrics die or batteries run out, and I have 30-40 mile range now, so I don't run out of batteries much anymore. An internally geared rear hub would be fine.

I DO need a front shock that is compatible with a wheel that weighs about 16 pounds with integrated hub motor. Will also have about 30 pounds of batteries probably strapped to middle of bike, so a bigger triangle frame space would be good to reduce width of battery pack.