mtbr member
    Nov 2011

XT M8000 moves chain when pedaling backwards on lowest gear. Any suggestions?

This happens on the largest cog. I'm a born again beginner, so I'm not sure if this is common. When I brought it to the bike shop where I bought the bike, the mechanic said it's just how this bike and gear set was. It's not a huge deal, but kind of annoying when I'm moving the bike around indoors and washing the chain.

I'm guessing it doesn't matter, but it's a...
    2016 Giant Anthem - 1x11 - All XT components

Thanks in advance!

NedwannaB
    Do you mean when you backpedal when in biggest cog on cassette(granny) the chain drops down to the next cog?
    Wait whuuut, who did he tell you that!?!?....

mtbr member
    I have a 1x11 Sram and that happens to me too. Its has to do with the chainline. If you can figure out where the absolute straight chainline cog is, you can try to figure out a different shim stack up on your bottom bracket to move the chainline towards your biggest cog. Be careful though because if you do do that then your crank moves in and has a potential to hit you chainstay. Or your shoes may hit as well.

The good news is when your riding there not really a need to pedal backwards especially when your at your largest cog. I back pedal when I'm pointing down for foot placement but typically you're not bombing downhill on your largest.

Kind of a crappy answer but there's not much you can do about this...
    Current Bikes

2015 Transition Patrol AL
    2016 YT Tues AL

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by JMac47 View Post
    Do you mean when you backpedal when in biggest cog on cassette(granny) the chain drops down to the next cog?
    sometimes it drops down two cogs, but yes, that's what it does.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Junersun View Post