Novice question - converting to a 1x10 on a Scalpel- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Novice question - converting to a 1x10 on a Scalpel

I know this has to have been asked to death, but hopefully you'll excuse it being asked one more time. I'm pretty new at this and just want to make the right decision before ordering parts.

I have a 2013 Cannondale Scalpel 29'er 4 and right now I have the stock 3x10 setup. My bike has a BB30, FSA Comet cranks and a 10 speed Shimano HG-62 cog on the back. The front chainring is a 42/32/24. I spend 99.9% of my time on the 24T ring, and my riding is all twisty singletrack/woods/XC.

I want to go to a single chainring up front with a bash guard, but am at a loss as to what to go for. Ideally I'd like a 30T sprocket.

Stupid questions abound:

- Can I keep my stock cranks? Or am I better off buying a crankset that comes with a single 30T ring? I'd really like to try the Race Face narrow/wide 30T, but have no idea if it will work with what I have now.

- Since I want a bashguard, should I get a crankset (or sprocket set?) that's for a 2x10 setup, and use the inner ring for the drivetrain and replace the outer ring with a guard? Or is there a better way to go about it?

- I have a BB30 - will any BB30 crankset fit my bike? (I assume this one is a yes...)

Basically I'd like to keep it around/under $300, so if anyone could shoot me some suggestions on a good single 30T+Bashguard setup that would fit my bike, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!
    Trail: Scalpel-Si / Sherpa / Farley EX
    Gravity: Nomad / Wilson
    Road: Stigmata / Slate

My MTB Videos

mtbr member
    as long as your cranks have bolts in them you should be able to just take all those rings off and put the 30tooth narrow wide on the middle ring and the bash in the bigger ring position.