mtbr member
    Oct 2015

New question here. New to the 1X10 game

Can't get the gears to index properly.

Set up:
    32T raceface NW up front (new)
    11-36 shimano XT cassette (new)
    XT Deore 10 spd shifter (new)
    reusing old Deore XT long cage RD (2007 or so)

Problem is it skips over gears both on way up and down. I was a bike mechanic in a past life so I know principles of indexing. Is there a compatibility issue with the new shifter and old RD?

since 4/10/2009
    Sure that XT derailleur is a 10spd? If it's an old 9spd, it definitely won't be compatible with a 10spd shifter. Cable pull was changed between 9 and 10spd Shimano drivetrain components. If it doesn't say Dyna-sys on it somewhere, you'll have to get a 10spd derailleur.

mtbr member
    Oct 2015
    Ok Harold that was my guess - it is an old 9 speed but wasn't sure if the compatibility was built into the shifter. So much for my cheap conversion! Next question...Zee or XT - short or long cage - possibility of me going with a 42 Wolf Giant Cog in back. Thanks.

mtbr member
    A bit of light reading before going to bed. It's a good reference for mix & match drivetrain stuff. Of the stuff you listed, I'd go XT if I wanted accurate repeatable long term lightweight quality for XC type trails (which is what I'd personally require). I'd go saint if I planned on making my bike fly, both with and without me on it.

Art's Cyclery Blog Science Behind the Magic | Drivetrain Compatibility
    "a hundred travel books isn't worth one real trip"

mtbr member
    Jun 2014