Boost crankset with non boost rear hub?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2017

Boost crankset with non boost rear hub?

When I purchaed my Yeti I received an extra Shimano M7000 SLX boost crankset as part of the deal. I already have the XT crankset on my Yeti and the SLX crankset is only 170mm, so it is of no use to me. I am upgrading my wifes Giant Trance to the full SLX groupset (1x11) and was wondering if I could use a boost crankset on a non boost bike?
    2016 Yeti SB4.5c
    2007 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Expert
    2013 Giant Trance X3

mtbr member
    Your chainline would be horrible, maybe unusable in the lowest (climbing) gears. I'd sell it and get the right one.
    I brake for stinkbugs

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    That's what I figured, but what if a chainring with 2mm spacers were used? Would the difference only be 1mm at that point? Is that enough to make a big difference? I am still learning how all of this works
    In my reading up on the topic, I have found where non boost crank arms can be used on a boost rear hub. If that is the case, wouldn't the opposite be true?
    2016 Yeti SB4.5c
    2013 Giant Trance X3

mtbr member
    Will it work, yes. Although based on the bike's BB shell width, you might have very few threads engaged. I'd be very reluctant to use it on a 68mm wide BB shell. As mentioned, it will probably mess up the chainline, but I don't think it will be horrible. A couple mm off, but still off. If you're in a area with a lot of mountain biking, I think you could easily find someone willing to trade you cranksets.
    "a hundred travel books isn't worth one real trip"

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    This should explain it for you...

Tech Talk: Boost 148 explained - Mtbr.com

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 2AllBeef View Post