BB30 frame with Shimano BB90 XTR crank. HELP!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

BB30 frame with Shimano BB90 XTR crank. HELP!!!

It's the first time I'm buying a whole bike as separate parts on my own... and of course as a newbie I'm paying the bitter price .

I bought a Cannondale Flash Carbon frame with BB30 hole and and Shimano XTR crank Fc-m980 which later I found out it's BB90. ............... Again

So, what should I do now?

1) Install an adapter/converter (adding 50g) to use the XTR? (cheaper option)

2) Buy a Cannondale SL Hollowgram / Truvativ and sell the XTR? (expensive option)

3) ?

ps: I live in S. America, so I took months importing all parts... sadly it's not like go to the LBS and exchange cranks....

Plays with tools
    Nothing about that crank is BB90, that designation refers to the BB/frame interface. The cheapest option and the route I would go is to instal a BB30 adaptor into the frame. They come in two styles one that has threads so you can use a normal english threaded BB. And one that has bearings so you can press in a 24mm ID bearing for use with your Shimano cranks.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by customfab View Post
    Nothing about that crank is BB90, that designation refers to the BB/frame interface. The cheapest option and the route I would go is to instal a BB30 adaptor into the frame. They come in two styles one that has threads so you can use a normal english threaded BB. And one that has bearings so you can press in a 24mm ID bearing for use with your Shimano cranks.
    Thanks!

Performance wise, is there any disadvantage in use the adapter?

What do you say about this one:2012 Wheels Mfg BB30 Adapter for Shimano - Competitive Cyclist

Plays with tools
    That's a great solution provided the BB30 bearings are already pressed into your frame.