Anyone else NEVER broken a chain?- Mtbr.com
    Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004

Anyone else NEVER broken a chain?

I see people talking about people looking for a chain that won't break after experiencing multiple failures with one or more chains.

I don't get it. I've been riding mtb regularly for about 12-13 years, and I have never broken a chain. Is this unusual? I usually use low to mid level SRAM chains, though I have also had a few of low-mid level shimano.

I can't help but think that unless someone is really heavy or really strong, if they keep breaking chains then there must be some other underlying problem.
    15mm is a second-best solution to a problem that was already solved.

Fat-tired Roadie
    I've broken a few chains. I agree with you, though, including when people are really heavy or really strong. Track racers and pro sprinters would go through chains like popcorn, new ones included, if they didn't have more than enough tensile strength for the rest of us.

I broke a Shimano road chain several years ago because I forgot about the special pin thing, and tried to reinstall it with an existing pin.

I broke a mountain bike chain sometime last season because I tried to shift into my small ring, then ratcheted before the shift completed. I'm confident that if I wanted to break chains, I could enjoy at least a 50% success rate with this method.

I broke a mountain bike chain this spring because I decided, once I'd started a climb and was straining on the pedals really hard, that I was in too high a gear, and tried to shift.

I'm sure they're defective now and then, but I think that almost all chain failures are due to installer or user error.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    People insist on shifting under load.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by kapusta