ahhh trigger shifters are so SLOW! What's next?- Mtbr.com
    mbtr member

ahhh trigger shifters are so SLOW! What's next?

I've been running gripshift on my mtbs for the last 10 years or so, and barcon shifters on my road bike for 2. With barcon/gripshift i have to move my hand position to shift, but it's FAST, and 1 pedal stroke puts me in any gear on the cassette. It's glorious; i shift when i can move my hand, and then put myself in the right gear when i can sneak in 1 pedal stroke.

My newest bike has XT 12 speed, and it shifts amazing. Well, not really. Unlike gripshift/thumbies/barcon i can't shift the whole cassette in a single pedal stroke, and getting the RD to the right cog often takes multiple hand movements. Shifting takes forever! ...but i don't have to move my hand, which is sweet. It's a reasonable compromise on a road bike or a xc/dh race bike, but it feels super clumsy for trail rides.

I want a trigger shifter like sram's r2c tri bike shifters- they're like thumbies where you can push them across a bunch of gears, then they go back to their middle position. It's the advantages of both systems in a simpler lever. All the tech has existed for years, and yet it doesn't exist.
    "Things that are complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple."
    Mikhail Kalashnikov

mtbr member
    I think it doesn't exist because most people don't care whether or not they can shift through the entire cassette in one pedal stroke. Super clumsy and slow aren't words I associate with rapid-fire shift levers but if you do then I guess you'll either have to stick with grip shift or accept the compromises.
    I brake for stinkbugs

mbtr member
    Quote Originally Posted by J.B. Weld View Post