Wrecked hands- Mtbr.com

Thread: Wrecked hands

Bikes are good

Wrecked hands

Alright, so maybe I'm getting too old, or I'm a wuss. That stuff aside though, DH riding kills my hands. Spent the 4th trip at Whistler this summer on my new DH sled, and hands were hammered by the end. Took it easy a while, went to my local bike park, and after 3 hours or so my hands were trashed, swollen for a few days even. Took a few weeks off and then again. Hands are too jacked to even ride safely. Is it possible I'm doing something that terribly wrong? Grip change? Hobby change? Just wondering if anyone has a similar thing, or might know a solution so I can keep riding next summer.
    "Having lack of self-preservation makes biking more fun."

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    I was right there with you. Total newb. Went DH 2 days last week. On day 1 my mitts hurt like a mutha! To the point of possibly wrecking.

Took a lesson on day 2. My coach got my suspension dialed in and gave me tips on my form - keep elbows out like doing push-up and let arms and legs absorb impact. I'm on a 6" travel bike but these tips helped a great deal!!
    Everything you want is on the other side of fear!

mtbr member
    yep, it's often suspension tuning. Softening up your high-speed compression damping can really help. Or grips. Do you use lock-ons? I used lock-ons for a few years, but they have very little rubber over the nylon sleeve, so you're not getting much cushion from them. Switched to some soft compound Sensus grips and it got a lot better. I've heard that ESI silicon grips are also great at damping vibration.

But then there's Whistler and its braking bumps. I've only been there once, and just thinking about them makes my forearms and hands hurt. I don't think there is anything on earth that can withstand braking bumps that big.
    tangaroo: What electrolytes do chicken and turkey have again?
    rck18: All of them, because they're meat.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006