Wood feature to transition, help??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Wood feature to transition, help??

So, I only started riding this year, maybe the beginning of June, but have been out quite a bit. I have slowly been tackling larger and more challenging features and have become fairly comfortable with all the huck to flat stuff around Nelson, but a feature was recently rebuilt. It is now a flat wood feature maybe 5 ft high, small gap to a dirt transition. I have done zero features with transitions so far as I am just not comfortable with them, but of course I tried this one. Any ways I panicked I guess pulled up really hard as I left the end of the feature and ended up handing very rear end heavy then totally packing up my front fork once it made contact. I didn't eat ****, but it was super close and I am sure it looked worse than it felt.

The feature is super similar to the :49 mark of this vid: Hornby island Yer mom RAW POV Video - Pinkbike

After watching this video about 20 times it looks like more of a float off the end kind of thing. In the end any tips are welcome as I am thinking about just hitting it over and over until it feels right.

Glad to Be Alive
    landing to the dirt transition will be way smoother......the trick is to land evenly of a little front tire heavy....this wil make it smooth.....watch people better then you
    the trick is ENJOYING YOUR LIFE EACH DAY, don't waste them away wishing for better days

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Landing to dirt is the way to go. Just get the speed up until you can just float off. Then celebrate!
    "I think it's rad, when Balls beats Natural talent" - Shaun Palmer

mtbr member
    Friends don't let friends hit jumps/drops with flat landings. I'm surprised anyone is building them that way anymore.