What To Expect When Riding Downhill- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

What To Expect When Riding Downhill

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I was wondering what to expect exactly from downhill riding? I have a friend that has been doing some downhill racing the last few years and I caught back up with him last year and he said I should go ride some downhill with him some time. I also met another fellow biker last year that is pretty much a beginner like me and he desperately wants to ride some downhill too. I'm 38 now and rode BMX freestyle for several years until I got married in 2001, and I started riding some singletrack last year. But downhilling seems like a complete unknown to me. I mentioned my desire to ride to the owner of the LBS I go to and his comment, "It's not about 'if' you'll get hurt, it's 'when' you'll get hurt," that did not reassure me. And that was coming from a guy who has done some downhill riding, but I don't think he has done a ton.

Is it as dangerous as a lot of people want to make it sound? Look, I don't want to go 35~40 mph full out down the mountain. I'd like to go at a moderate speed even if that means taking my time. Mainly I just want the experience of riding the lift and enjoying the scenery on the way up as well as on the way down. I don't want to set any speed or time records. A lot of what I've seen in videos it looks like I could do at a speed I feel comfortable with. I know my friend has mentioned one place he rode he had to go off a 7' drop. I'm not sure I want to hit any 7' drops either. Can downhill be done in moderation so-to-speak or does it have to be done full out screaming? The bikes have brakes so can't I use them to adjust to a level I feel comfortable? I know some might say just stick to some singletrack, but I'd really like to do some dowhnill riding that flows and take the pedaling out of biking for a day.