Trek scratch8, Giant Reign X1 or Specialized enduro evo (All 2011 models)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Trek scratch8, Giant Reign X1 or Specialized enduro evo (All 2011 models)

I've narrowed my choice down to these three bikes. Which one should I get?

I would like peopleís suggestions to how the bikes compare, i.e. different suspension styles, pedal/climb ability, ability to take big hits/downhill.
    I have been riding a 2007 sx trail for 3 years so comparisons to this bike would also be helpful.
    Any views, information or opinions are welcome, no matter how biased. Also suggestions for other bikes are welcome.
    I have a similar post in the AM forum but thought perhaps the people here would be better to tell me how they think these bikes would handle things when it gets bigger, rougher and faster.

I have a budget of £4000, maybe stretch to £45000 if the perfect bike is found.

Thanks for your help, I definitely need it.

Now with More Wood
    Out of those, I've only ridden the new Enduro (not the Evo model). Whilst it's surely a capable bike, it still feels..."all-mountainy"...if that's a word. It's quite long and stretched out (sizing will come into play here of course), which you may or may not like. Coming off an SX Trail...I should imagine you'd notice it. Don't get me wrong, the bike felt great...but it's not a big hit bike, and not really a playbike either.

Cam McCaul was going to to take his Scratch to Rampage...so that's your answer on big hit ability...lol...

Probably, the Reign X sits somewhere between those other 2 bikes.

Not very helpful, but my 2 cents...nice list of bikes for sure...

mtbr member
    If your budget stretches to 45000, you should be able to afford all of them!

I havent ridden them, but for a rule of thumb, the scratch and reign x will hover around the DH/FR end of the spectrum, and the Evo more around the all mountain (but with abit more gnar than regular all mountain)

mtbr member
    Apr 2006