Thoughts on frames - V-tach/Highline/Cuervo- Mtbr.com
    long standing member

Thoughts on frames - V-tach/Highline/Cuervo

Not my thoughts, I'm looking for yours. These three are frames that I've got an interest in for DH/FR duties. Main stomping grounds will be Diablo in NJ, with some local PA riding and some travel around the northeast (and beyond). No racing and no huge hucks. I'm a DH novice and just want to make the correct purchase the first time around. Here's what I see as my needs in a DH/FR frame:

• Stiff - I'm 260lbs, this sucker has got to be laterally stiff. Off-camber, rocky terrain is no fun on a bike that is even a wee bit flexy.
    • Plush - my skillz are weak and I need the suspension to make up for my shortcomings. Seriously, though, I need as much help in the rough stuff from the bike as I can get.
    • Progressive - even though I ain't doing any 20ft hucks, I am gonna be jumping and dropping on this thing. I'm looking for maximum comfort and cushion on landings (and some forgiveness when I'm "off", which'll be often).
    • Reliable/Durable - I'm not interested in having to replace bearings every 2 months. I don't want to have to deal with cracked seat-tubes or anything like that.
    • Balanced geometry - Slack is good, stable at speed (and in the rough) is good. Skinnies aren't really my thing...feeling comfortable on steeper terrain is more important than slow-speed agility. Cornering is a weakness of mine, so a frame that inherently corners well is a plus.
    • Braking - good braking characteristics are imperative, I don't want brake jack sending my over the bars or skipping me through braking bumps.
    • Balanced travel - I want to know that what the front of the bike can handle, the back can as well. Having a plush fork that gobbles up rocks only to have the the bike held up by the rear is rather unpleasant. They'll likely be an 888 hanging off the front.