mtbr member

Is it silly to buy a DH bike?

I'm no pro. I don't know if you could say that I'm a technically a downhill rider, but I certainly don't ride uphill very much.

When I ride locally, I almost always arrange a shuttle to the top. When I go to Moab every spring, I always hit Porcupine Rim. Occasionally, I make a trip to the ski resort for lift service here in Idaho or nearby in Utah.

Is it silly for someone like me to buy a real DH bike?

I'm not about to enter the RedBull Rampage any time soon. At almost 40 years old, I don't hit giant jumps or drops, but I do love to cruise down the mountain at high speed, and I have zero interest in pedaling for the fun of it.

I can afford to pick up a good used DH bike, but is is there any benefit? I know that I don't "need" that much bike, but will it be fun to ride a monster occasionally?

An enduro (or even trail) bike can probably handle what I'm going to throw at it, but those bikes are also made to pedal uphill, and I'm not really interested in that. Will will a real DH bike add any fun to my downhill shuttles?

Is it silly to buy a real DH bike when a smaller bike can handle my riding?
    Truth is treason in the empire of lies.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dagoof View Post
    I'm no pro. I don't know if you could say that I'm a technically a downhill rider, but I certainly don't ride uphill very much.

When I ride locally, I almost always arrange a shuttle to the top. When I go to Moab every spring, I always hit Porcupine Rim. Occasionally, I make a trip to the ski resort for lift service here in Idaho or nearby in Utah.

I'm not about to enter the RedBull Rampage any time soon. At almost 40 years old, I don't hit giant jumps or drops, but I do love to cruise down the mountain at high speed, and I have zero interest in pedaling for the fun of it.