Shimano SAINT Wheels!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Shimano SAINT Wheels!!!

Unless I am seeing things. On the new cover of MBA looks like a set of Shimano Saint wheels on that Kona. I have the Shimano XT All mountain 20mm wheels on my Tracer Vpp and my NomadMKII. Best All mountain wheel set, I have ever owned. I am sure the SAINT Wheel set will be right up there with Mavic Deemax.
    2011 Santa Cruz TallBoy carbon & 2013 TallBoy LT carbon - S/C All the Time !!!

mtbr member
    I can't see shimano ever building a wheelset under 5 lbs for heavy use, but I can see them selling overly-weighty crap for the same price of a higher quality part from another mfg!

Bike Ninja |||
    as soon as shimano get's rid of loose-ball hubs i will buy it... until then, sealed stuff for me. And i'm a mechanic.. i love to work on my bike... but it does get old when, on any given day, I adjust and overhaul at least 3 customer's shimano hubs.... ugh....
    Proud to represent Mojo Wheels.

Elitest thrill junkie
    Quote Originally Posted by chooofoojoo
    as soon as shimano get's rid of loose-ball hubs i will buy it... until then, sealed stuff for me. And i'm a mechanic.. i love to work on my bike... but it does get old when, on any given day, I adjust and overhaul at least 3 customer's shimano hubs.... ugh....
    Good, then as a mechanic you should know that there's no such thing as a truely "sealed" hub, and the shimano hubs have seals. Cartridge bearings don't take lateral loads at all, whereas the shimano "loose-ball" system has a lot more going on in it then you might think (I was a mechanic too, and I spent plenty of time fixing/rebuilding hubs. Some where shimano, some where not).
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

Premium Member