Santa Cruz Super 8(attn super 8 owners)- Mtbr.com

Aug 2004

Santa Cruz Super 8(attn super 8 owners)

OK, I have the chance to buy a 2002 super 8. White frame, 02 shiver(awesome condition), race face north shore cranks, mrp guide, sunn double wide rims(26 front/ 24 rear), hayes 8" hydros, azonic bars, thompson post, deore shifter, and arrow tires. Now the questions; the guy want at least 1500, i may be able to talk him down. What do you think of the price? Or, what do you think it is really worth? The frame is in awesome condition with the exception of a tiny tiny crack on the rear swingarm brace, but if you have ever seen a super 8 then you would know that its like an aluminium box back there. So would that really effect the how structurally sound the frame is? I am very new to dh bikes so any help would be so awesome. Also some pics of your super 8 would be sick, thanks.

Also if anyone is interested I have a bombshell wicked wendy inverted fork. Aluminium wrapped in carbon fiber, with minor scuffs. Beautiful fork.

Glad to Be Alive
    IMO price is too high for a non production bike that is almost 4 years old and it has a crack...Santa cruz doesn't make parts for it anymore. The single pivot is not really that good. i would rather have a bullitt (still single pivot) then that.

Might want to look at other bikes...for 1500 you could get something way nicer
    the trick is ENJOYING YOUR LIFE EACH DAY, don't waste them away wishing for better days

Sep 2004
    definatly don't buy it if its got a crack....

Jun 2005
    Well think about it if there is a crack there that means force is put on that part of the frame and the crack will continue to get bigger as you ride. IMO dont buy it your helping the seller out by buying his useless frame.

N* Bomber Crew
    $1500 is a lot....you can find a old Intense M1 for a tad higher than that. Granted the Super 8 is super sick and a awesome old school bike, its not worth 1500.