racing with limited budget- Mtbr.com
    Mountain Dew enthusiest

racing with limited budget

So, this fall, im going off to college and one of the colleges im considering (colorado school of mines) has a cycling team and does DH races. Right now, i have a 06 kona coiler but i want something better for racing DH. Seeing as how im going to college, i dont have the biggest budget. I work in a store that sells specialized and KHS and i think we can get mongoose possibly. What would you guys suggest for me? The Big Hit III looks like it has decent specs and i could upgrade to a 888 or a boxxer pretty easily. The KHS DH bike looks decent too but i dont know how much that costs. what do you think? what upgrades should i make to whatever bike i get?
    wishes Iowa had mountains

'11 Transition Bottlerocket frankenbuild
    '09 Origin-8 Interrogator frankenbuild
    '80 Rumme

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Either a new demo 8 or something used like a DHR or a Socom.

Mountain Dew enthusiest
    My budget is like 2-3k retail. i would really like a demo 8 but the cheapest one is $3700. I haven't had the best luck with used bikes so i would kind of like something new but i'll look into those.

'80 Rumme

mtbr member
    just be patient when it comes to used bikes and test ride them, check them all out. if you work in a shop i would imagine you have some knowledge around a bike and there are some crazy deals out there on used bikes.

Mountain Dew enthusiest
    I live in Des Moines, IA so that makes it hard to demo used DH bikes. I will continue looking for good deals (blems, etc.), but just in case i cant find a sweet deal, or a good used bike, it would be nice to know a little more about my options. Like how much does the big hit weigh?, etc.

'80 Rumme

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Do you not get EP or some sort of discount working at the shop? You have to pay full retail?
    Last edited by Tiago79; 02-28-2010 at 02:39 PM.

mtbr member