Question: Upgrading GF Genesis (Marlin) Components to Handle DH... ??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2008

Question: Upgrading GF Genesis (Marlin) Components to Handle DH... ??

Alright, so I'm just getting into mountain biking, but I'm not new to extreme sports. I used to BMX and then was big into skateboarding, rollerblading and snowboarding as well. I've stopped all of them except for snowboarding, but the summertime feels empty now, so decided to get into mountain biking.

I really wasn't planning on doing anything crazy, so went with an XC bike, the GF Marlin Disc.

http://www.fisherbikes.com/bike/model/marlin-disc

After finally going out for an actual ride on some trails, I've realized the most fun I had was on the DH. I loved hitting rock gardens, roots, logs, drops and getting air whenever I could. nothing insane, but definitely a bit aggressive.

I've read more now and it seems XC bikes aren't exactly meant for aggressive DH.

However, I'm quite light at 130-135 pounds and so I don't need a super durable bike. But still, I don't doubt my bike will fall apart at some point if I keep going hard. When this happens though, I'd rather not buy another new hardtail to handle DH stuff. I'd really just rather upgrade the parts that break (and I'm assuming my frame won't break under my light body).

So, can it be done? Will a XC bike like the Marlin be able to handle DH just as well as any other hardtail (even sturdier one, like one for DJ, which seems to be the best way to go for a DH hardtail I suppose) if I replace parts with more durable ones as they break.

In the end, I'd probably want new wheels and new fork (I have DH riser handlebars) and would that be enough?

I realize DH is better suited for a FS bike, but I definitely love riding my Marlin and would like it to be able handle what I want to throw at it on aggressive trails. So, can it be done? Well, it can be, but will it be successful is more what I'm asking.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006