Question about Tubeless Tires?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006

New question here. Question about Tubeless Tires?

I was looking a tubeless tires today and was wondering if most UST tires are single ply or if they are dual? Sorry I am new to the tubeless thing.
    Go BIG or Go HOME

StraightOuttaCompton
    well at least with real tubeless and nice rims you wont have to worry about tweaking the rims so bad that the bead wont go in.
    HARDTAIL PRIDE- 09 Kona Five-0

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    sucks that you have to get ust tires you just put new regular ones on
    "Ride Life Ride Giant"

N* Bomber Crew
    You don't necessarily need UST Tires to run a tubeless setup on UST Rims. I believe you can run a variety of tires. You may want to use Stans however.

823's with regular DHF and DHR Minions work great with some Stans.
    Northstar 2008 Riding Crew

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Well the tires I was looking at are single ply tubeless. It made me think that I could run a normal single ply tire with stans, but I'm not sure.
    Go BIG or Go HOME

Glad to Be Alive
    Quote Originally Posted by CountryBoy
    Well the tires I was looking at are single ply tubeless. It made me think that I could run a normal single ply tire with stans, but I'm not sure.
    yes you can run normal tires with stans...they just burp more
    the trick is ENJOYING YOUR LIFE EACH DAY, don't waste them away wishing for better days

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Here's the thing about UST set ups - they don't work if you're heavy! Not sure what the cut off point would be, but I am 16.5stone/104 Kilos and no matter what I do, I cannot get them to work for me.

Initially I was running them around 25 psi, which was obviously too low. They leaked on hard corners and by the time I got to the bottom of a run, they were so soft they pinched. When you pinch flat a UST tyre, it's game over. You can still put in a tube and run them normally of course.