Plushness question- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New question here. Plushness question

I have an Ellsworth Id (4 bar w/ Romic shock). I also have a DC Sherman Slider. 6" front and rear. I have the compression and rebound dampening setup kind of slow. By doing so I am able to keep my take-offs and landings from jumps and drops very straight and controlled.

However, with the slower suspension the ride is not at all plush. I tested a riding- buddy's DH bike (single pivot rear with 7.5" travel) and the difference was astonishing. It was so incredibly plush, it seemed to float over any bump or hit.

Not that I expect my bike to perform like a full on DH rig with 25% more travel, but am I missing something? Is there a way setup my suspension to have more plushness yet still have solid feel?

Thanks,
    John

mtbr member
    I'm by no means an expert BUT... I have a Kona Dawg set up with 5/5 inches travel. And I also have a Stinky Deluxe 7/7 inches travel. I put a Vanilla RC on the back of the Dawg. Now the Dawg still seems "stiff" on the small stuff but when I hit a 4 footer its smooth as silk. The Stinky is just smooth all the way around. You can try to tweak the rebound and compression but when you have 5 inches or less of travel your gonna feel the bumpy stuff.
    Harry......I took care of it!!

Jm.
    mtbr member
    There's a lot of little things here that can be contributing, some that you can control, some that you can't. IT would help to know what kind of bike the other guy has that you thought was a lot better, it could provide information for comparing your bike to it and making some generalizations.