One Bike for Everything???- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2008

One Bike for Everything???

I am kinda new to DH and bike parks and I own a 2015 SC Bronson aluminum 650b bike. I spent a week at Whistler recently and had the pleasure of riding a full on DH Giant Glory. While riding the Glory there, I was very comfortable and confident in my abilities, and that was my first ever time riding DH. I enjoyed it so much that once we got back home to the States I went to our "local" DH park, Beech Mountain in Banner Elk, NC. I didn't rent a bike at Beech, instead I rode my Bronson and had zero issues. Of course I am not skilled enough to ride the pro lines or black diamond lines yet, but I did great on all the Beginner/Intermediate lines. My bike is mainly stock, with the exception of Saint Cranks and Saint Brakes, Deity Cavity 35mm stem and converted to 1x with Wolftooth 30t ring. Everything else is just as it came from the factory. Is it dumb of me to think I would be ok with only this bike in my stable? I know most DH/FR bikes have coil suspension and at least one more inch of travel. But is it too crazy to think my Bronson will work for long term use at bike parks like this? Is there some sort of rule for using air suspension at places like this? I am not against buying a dedicated park bike, but if I can get away without it, then I'd rather not. If the consensus is that I shouldn't press my luck with my Bronson (which I also use for every day trail riding) I will be considering the Airborne Toxin complete. Just curious what the opinions are of the more experienced??? Speak freely, I'm a big boy and it won't hurt my feelings if you tell me I'm crazy...
    Last edited by New Guy; 10-04-2015 at 02:52 PM.

Uphill? What's that