New guy here! 03 Bullit- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2010

New guy here! 03 Bullit

Wassup guys! Sly Tuna here from Newport Beach. Ive been riding for about 6 years, and these last 2 years have been very unproductive for me. I was an Urban rider for those years, with an occasional dirt jump sesh. I rode a Giant STP 1. I managed to get sponsored by Maxxis for a year in 05. I am really interested in getting into the trail/DH scene, and im told there are some great trails where i live. Today i purchased the beautiful 03' Santa Cruz Bullit (medium-im 6'0 170lbs). I wanna be able to use it as a trail bike, and still bomb down hills with it. Im am looking to build this bike from the ground up. I wanna run a 160mm in the front, and im not sure if i need to rebuild the rear shock. I hope i posted this in the right section. Anyway; any and all info is appreciated. Recommendations for parts would be awesome as well. Hope to get some great feedback!!

Here are some pics!
    Bike was recently Powder-coated white. No cracks or bad welds.

mtbr member
    Jan 2010
    BTW im looking to spend in excess of $800 for this build.

= dirt torpedo =
    Oct 2005
    i believe Craig at Avalanche rebuilds 5th element shocks and makes them feel godly.

A RockShox Lyric, Fox 36 or Marzocchi 55 would fit the frame well if you want to keep the front at 160mm, you can find some decent deals on those forks in classifieds and on Ebay.

Azonic Outlaws are good wheels that won't set you back too much. They're weighty, but if you're not afraid of that, they'll take the DH abuse.
    Look for some used older Saint cranks, very solid and can be had for a reasonable price if used.

The rest of it i'm sure you can just figure out as you go.
    Have fun man, there are some awesome trails in your area!

Pivotal figure