Need a new rim , some good suggestions?- Mtbr.com
    RideDirt

Need a new rim , some good suggestions?

Hey guys, so basically my rear rim is dented up pretty badly right now. I have a few more runs left on it but i would like to fix it. I run the MTX 33 rims that came on my 2012 Kona Operator . Its my fault since i let out some air pressure for the dusty loose conditions and decided to hit some rocky trechy sections and rock gardens lol .

Im around 200lbs geared up and im not the smoothiest rider also , i just started riding this year . I really like the thickness of the MTX 33 rim but i was wondering if you guys would recommend another rim ? Maybe something a little lighter just as strong? Might be a good reason to maybe build a rear wheel for now and then finish up the front later this year.. What you guys think ?

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    stans flow, mavic 723, mtx 33 or 31's. I have all of them and they're great.

mtbr member
    The previously mentioned rims are great choices but I would also throw DT Swiss FR 600 and FR 630's on the list. I ride the FR 600's and they are very durable as well. The FR 630's are cheaper than the 600's and weigh about 30 grams more per rim so may be better suited for a larger rider (I'm 160 lbs).
    2012 Intense M9
    2012 Pivot Mach 5.7 Carbon
    2008 Look 595
    2007 Custom Litespeed Sewanee

turtles make me hot
    If you don't ride tubeless, the Salsa Gordo is an excellent rim.
    I like turtles

RideDirt
    Currently I am running with tubes ... Ill look into some of these rims

RTM
    #1 Latex Salesman