NEED help with Giant DH comp...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

NEED help with Giant DH comp...

first off I want to say sorry if this isn't posted in the right topic, it seemed like the right one. I'm new to the "real" bike scene, by that I mean a bike that ISN'T meant to be tossed after the first part breaks, a bike whose INDIVIDUAL parts cost more than COMPLETE commercial bikes.

Anyway I recently scored an '03 DH comp from a buddy. I was looking at the front drivetrain and trying to figure out what I could do about the POS bash/ guide combo that came stock on it, I don't like it AT ALL! In a nutshell, what are my options? is there any way I could get a derailleur and two rings up there W/ a chain guide? I would like the flexibility of a 2x9 as the trails I ride are more FR oriented and a 1x9 just kills me trying to pedal it anywhere ( yes, yes I KNOW!... its a DH bike)

Right now it's got the stock RF prodigy cranks W/ a Blackspire 38t ring, and I assume the stock BB. BB shell is 100mm. Also it's got one threaded eye- like 1/3 of a set of ISCG tabs- that ( I believe) would allow something with ISCG 03 mounting to attach, at least with ONE bolt.

Another Q: Just how vulnerable IS the bottom pivot W/O the stock Bash?

Sorry for writing a novel, and Thanks in advance,
    Max

mtbr member
    The DH comp is slightly problematic because of the mounting for the Stock chainguide. Due to the design of the frame, you need to do a little bit of modification to make a “normal” guide fit on the bike. There is a small tab on the driveside front of the bottom bracket shell that needs to be removed in order to allow an ISCG bottom bracket adapter to fit. This tab is used with the stock custom chainguide. Take off this tab (read: file or dremel), and the bottom bracket adapter should go right on, and installation will go as normal.