Need help with a build..- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Need help with a build..

Well I'm completely new to all this, but I have been doing a lot of reading the last couple days to try and build this myself, but it's not working out to well. Like I said I'm new to this, so I'm asking some help from the veterans to help me build a decent bike for DH/FR. I have the frame picked out and now I just need the components. I have my eyes set on the Banshee Scythe frame unless you have other suggestions for me. I'm 5'10" 210lbs. I want my budget to stay anywhere from $3500-$4000. I'm not sure what parts are compatible with this bike or if everything is universal for every frame. If I could get some help I would greatly appreciate it. I'll keep doing some reading myself. Thanks

-Nate

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Click here for frame info

Thought I would make it easier for people to get the info of the frame so they could help you a little more.

Just to let you know, you are going to get a lot of brand loyal people in here saying "brand A is better than brand B" but it is a lot of personal preference. Check the reviews on this site, and try to do a bit of research before buying something they recommend.

Also a good idea since you are new, would be to pick up a decent used frame, just to make sure you like it. It is the end of the season and you should be able to get a decent bike for pretty cheap.

Glad to Be Alive
    if you are not sure what you want and prefere....then I say save ur money and buy a used bike.....ride the used bike 6 to 9 months then sell it pretty much for the same price you bought it for. Now you still have the same amount of money as before to buy a bike that YOU prefere.

Don't blow your money now....this is your third biggest purchase in life.....a house, car and then mtn bike...be wise with ur money
    the trick is ENJOYING YOUR LIFE EACH DAY, don't waste them away wishing for better days

Brackish