My freakin awesome fork idea that all fork companies should use and pay me for.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2004

My freakin awesome fork idea that all fork companies should use and pay me for.

I've been thinking. Yes. I'm a big fan of VP-Free's, the look, the idea behind them, etc. (I have no experience with them personally). Searching around here, I've seen some really sweet vp-free setups, including some folks who use theirs as pretty light all mountian bikes. i.e. Slayer77's setup 33 lbs for a 215mm travel bike?? Wow. So here's my idea. There are plenty of single crown forks that are adjustable travel up to 150mm, but there should be some that have adjustable travel from 130 or 150mm to 170 or 200mm. With the new Travis 8" single crown fork coming out, I don't think this is too far off. I know the Boxxer Ride is this kind of thing in a dual crown fork. Cause then, you could climb up some crazy ass hill with 150mm up front, then drop off some crazy ass drop with the 200mm setting. Also, with a bike like (for example) the Banshee Scream with 6-8" of travel adjustability, this could be beneficial. Yea? No? I'm I an idiot? Will someone make one for me so I can buy a VP-Free?

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by twouareks