My buddy's 10year old son learns to jump (video)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

My buddy's 10year old son learns to jump (video)

This weekend my ride buddy's 10 year old decided he was ready to learn to jump.
    We grabbed some tools and started digging him a table to learn on and he did great.

Here goes a video of his experience (less than 2 min)

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/5xQ5XRbekjw?hd=1" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
    Transition Bank
    Transition ToP
    Transition Covert

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Nice. I got a video of this kid on Lucid in Snowshoe this weekend. I think he was 7yrs old and wasn't as slow as you would thing a 7yr old would be.

<iframe width="560" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/y2CaxfGPfps" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

mtbr member
    May 2011
    well, while we are on the kids learning to jump I'll also take a lesson

I am pretty new to biking, I have no problems going off ledges or drops (within reason), or jumps that have a long flat take off section, I can just use the speed to do the jump with a hop on take off (like jump on top video here would be easy)

but on short steep jumps with no ramp landings I am struggling.

lets say jump is a small ramp, 18 inches high, maybe 2 feet long, pitching up at increasing angle, landing on normal terrain (not landing on a ramp slope)

I basically suck, I can't control what the front wheel is doing, sometimes i land on the front wheel heavily (then the back).

It seems like the front shock absorbs the ramp and then the rear of the bike tries to catapult me over the bars.

on a bike with no suspension, I don't have this problem.

what is the correct technique for a jump like above? - body position? stand into the jump? hop at top of jump? pull up on handlebars at top of jump? shift weight back on takeoff? maybe I am going too slow?

mtbr member
    Nov 2010