Mongoose Black Diamond 2007 frame- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Mongoose Black Diamond 2007 frame

Just bought this frame, thought I'd give DH a bit of a go, have n't got it yet should come in a few days, how do thy perform is there any thing to lookout for, its just to try and get a feel for DH see if its my thing,

I have a 06 170mm Marz 66's, 07 Saints, Race face D2 stem 50mm, Easton high rise monkey bars, E-13 drs , xt short cage mech and Avid Code brakes, 2.5 Nevegal DH tyres,
    and Mongoose hub with wtb dh rim and a giant hub 20mm with a mavic 721 rim,

does this sound ok for a first DH rig build, any help feedback would be very much appreciated, I will be a complete newbie to the DH sport, had a go in the French Alps on my Heckler , scared me to death but loved it, felt like I needed more bike.

Cheers

Capricious youth...
    You should love the bike with that part spec. I hear that they actually ride really well, and if you factor in how cheap they are, they ride especially well!

Maybe check the Schwinn/Mongoose forum for more details. I used to sell these bikes, but I never rode one.
    Meh.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    i have a 2008 black diamond triple its a great bike its my freeride bike as a i a full on dh bike but i have taken it to diablo and plattekill plenty of times holds up great you'll love it i thought it was a mistake buying it but i was wrong. its a great bike if you want it to feel better through rock gardens throw a triple crown fork on it.
    great bike you wont regret it and the good thing is you can pedal it in the trails also...

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Thanks for the input , I'm hoping it will give me some confidence to have a go, a triple crown would be my next upgrade, but for now just going with what I've got, I didn't realise they still pedal ok that's a real bonus, means I can ride it up my local trail where there are some jumps to play on. I was thinking of Boxxers if I live that long trying to find my feet