Magura mini-service bleed kit- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Magura mini-service bleed kit

I figured I'd post this here rather than the "brake time" forum since there's not a lot of traffic in there and a lot of people in here are probably running gustavs or louises.

How easy is this kit to use? I need to bleed my gustavs before saturday, and I should be getting the kit in the mail thursday. I'm new to DH so I've never bled a pair of brakes before. I've read some stories in the brake forum about brakes that are very difficult to bleed and I'm wondering if I'll need to recruit a second pair of hands for the job.

I've downloaded the instructions for the gustavs off the magura website, and they don't SEEM too complicated but I'm worried that they might be assuming a higher level of competence than what I've got, haha.

Thanks for any info/experience you guys have!

mtbr member
    maguras are difficult to bleed. give it a shot but if it does not work out take it to a GOOD shop

GERONIMO!!!!!!!
    Dec 2007
    you bleed them from the bottom up and it is easier with two pairs of hands, one on the caliper and one on the lever.
    oh and make sure you lever is level when you are bleeding

Err
    Calm like a bomb
    Perfect Magura Bleed -
    1. remove brake(s) from bike
    2. Hang brake so that there is a perfect vertical line from caliper to lever
    3. Fill syringe with hose attached 3/4 full, allow bubbles to settle
    4. Attach syringe to caliper.
    5. Pull on syringe to extract any air bubbles introduced to the caliper in step 4
    6. Push back in on syringe a little so that you're no longer creating a vacum.
    7. On new style levers, open bleed port on top and stick a syringe in there, on old style levers you'll have to pull fluid out of the master cylinder as it rises (this is a PITA).
    8. Push most of the fluid in the bottom syringe to the top.
    9. Close up top
    10. Remove syringe from bottom.