Light FR-ish frame deal?- Mtbr.com
    The Gnarchitect Sketch.

Light FR-ish frame deal?

I've liked riding my bikes in the dirt since I was a wee one, but I stopped riding for about 6 years in the middle of high school. A year and a half ago (now I'm 24) I bought a 22' raleigh m50 as a commuter bike, and I started riding trails again for fun. Being a 6' 3" 250 guy I've broken a lot of shite on it and upgraded accordingly, and I just put in an order for a DJ3 and some avid mechs with my LBS.

With the fork and brakes, the only things stock are chanrings, crank and BB. Its built up pretty FRish, easton risers, very short stem, odyssey flats, DH saddle, mavic crossland ('04s), lx and xt stuff. I began to wonder why I'm even sticking with this frame (other than the sentimental value, this bike helped me rediscover loving biking).

Pros - The raleigh is actually a sweet frame for what I paid (290 complete bike at LBS) big welds, oversized tubing, 6061 alu, bilaterally ovalized downtube, downtube gusset, lifetime warranty.

Cons - frame is a bit large for trail riding, seat tube angle could be more slack, headtube is MASSIVELY tall (about 8.5 in or so), longer chainstays than I'd like, etc...

I'm thinking very seriously about just ordering another frame, coughing up the dough for new cranks/chainrings/BB, and having the rest of my parts switched over. I want a jack-of-all trades HT for urban, trails, etc... I'm not terribly concerned about weight, but as I'm really hard on a bike (even though I'm fairly smooth for a big dude) durability is an issue. 2-3 ft drops to flat (workin on tranny), I tend to barrel through rockgardens, learning trackstands and manuals and the like - I'd like to get more bike than I need right this moment as I'm learning and progressing every day.