K9 industries headset reducer cups- Mtbr.com
    FM
    mtbr member

New question here. K9 industries headset reducer cups

Has anybody tried these?
    If so... how was the installation, any issues with creaking or headset reliability after some use?

mtbr member
    Looks really similar to the E13 zerostack - those I have been using (with FSA bearings) for a few years now w no issues

FM
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 006_007
    Looks really similar to the E13 zerostack
    Pretty similar at first glance....
    The big difference being that these k9 cups change your head angle +/- 2 degrees, by putting the headset at an angle to your head tube.

I have some concerns about this- seems like your head tube has to be perfectly faced, the headset upper & lower cups have to be perfectly aligned, and the head tube length has to be exactly to spec, otherwise you'd be wearing out bearings and putting extra stress on the steerer tube.

The potential benefits are huge though- so I was hoping somebody had some personal experience with them.

I emailed the MFG last week but haven't heard back yet. I'll post back here if/when I do.

ROBOTIC RESERVE
    Question: I am currently using a Cane Creek XXC Flush Headset on my XL Turner Highline. It’s the only headset out there that has a low enough total stack height to accommodate an 888 or Fox 40 with a massive 6” head tube. (10.1mm) the thing that has me worried is the amount of cup insertion depth is very thin. 5/8 on the lower cup and a little less on the top, do you think I will run into issues if I keep using it? Or should I make the switch to the e13 etc…?

Is there a recommended cup depth for a DH application and 1.5 head tube?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Captain's Rides
    2008 Turner 5.Spot Raw - Pushed RP23 / Pike 454 U-Turn
    2008 Turner Highline GDO - CCDB / Fox 40

Professional Troll