Jumps - stiffen up or loosen up?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Jumps - stiffen up or loosen up?

I'm fairly new to this jumping thing since I started mountain biking last year. Some kids at our local forest patch had built jumps and lucky enough for me they had small ones made too for old farts like me. They've given me the usual advice, pedals level, have enough speed, commit...then comes the part where it gets shady for me at least. When I see them do jumps, it's hard for me to catch them at what point do they "relax" and let it flow.

Here are my questions: Just before my front tire leaves the lip of the jump will I stiffen up or loosen up my arms and legs? I find it contradictory especially when they say I should relax...would that be when I'm airborne or when I am just about to hit the jump? Also, why do I sometimes land unevenly, like I tend to land heavily on my right side, meaning i don't land with the bike straight up? I had a couple of crashes already because of this, sliding out or hitting the ground hard. What am I doing wrong? BTW, my chocolate foot would be my right. Your tips would be helpful...thanks!!

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    Loosey Goosey. The stiffer you are, the more awkward you fly. I know when I first hit a new jump, or at the beginning of the day I'm more stiff and I tend to have more awkward situations. Once I get used to it and relax, everything smooths itself out.
    My advice is just keep jumping and you'll get comfortable and more relaxed. If you keep falling to the right, consciously lean a LITTLE to the left till it works itself out. I can't think of any time it's good to feel stiff on the bike.
    Check out Bryan Lopes Mastering Mountain Bike skills if you want some really good advice on pretty much every aspect of riding. It'll probably make you have more fun on the trail, and that's what it's all about.

mtbr member