Jumping technique- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Jumping technique

I have no problem taking a low speed wheely drop of a rock or a relativly flat ladder drop....But nothing more than 3 feet max. But for some reason I suck at jumps or any ramps you need to launch with speed. Something about getting luanched into the air that messes with my head. I also tend to land front wheel first way to often.

Recently a trails guy I was riding with told me that part of my problem was that as I take off from the jump I am pulling up on the handle bars. He recomended that all I need to do is pull backwards towards my chest instead of up. I have not tried this yet, does this sound correct?

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    do not, I repeat, do not jerk on the handle bars to gain airtime. Ride up the lip smoothly and "pump" your legs as go into the lip and then rise up off the lip with the bike, basically bringing the bike with you through the air.

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    im pretty new to all of this as well. I find that when i go off jumps that throw me into the air, i have a tendency to lift the handlbars aswell. A lot of the time it makes me pull them crooked and if i land like this is usually a pretty good crash.

I think a lot of the problem is not having enough speed going into it. I have been trying to keep my arms straight and jump more with my body (if that makes any sense). I have had more success with this, in that i dont feel i need to pull with my arms to make sure i clear the landing.

I think as time goes on and you hit more jumps, your going to have a better understanding of how you will need to adjust your bodyweight according to the angle at wich you take off too.

wretch