Ironhorse vs. Kona- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Ironhorse vs. Kona

I am just getting into FR and some DH and I was just wondering which would be better for a beginner.
    I have never had a dual suspension bike so it's all new to me.
    I still want to be able to pedal around or at least be light enough to push back up the hill because I won't be at a park with chairlift very often.
    The bikes that I were thinking of are the Ironhorse Yakuza Kumicho and the Kona Stinky, both are 08'.
    Feel free to suggest any other bikes.
    My budget is about AU$2500.

Thanks

mtbr member
    If you want a bike that is relativily pedal friendly, go for the stinky. I have an 08 and it was my first dual freeride/downhill bike to. The spec on both both bikes is relativily the same, and the forks are the same internally aside from the fact that the iron horse has dual crown forks and the stinky has single crown forks, which is great for both DH and FR, whereas Dual crown forks are more solely for DH and full on FR, i.e. not that great if you intend to ride it everywhere. The Stinky is a suprisingly good pedaling bike. Ignore people who say they are **** even though they have never ridden one in there life. I assume your in Australia, if so i would buy the stinky from the bike shed mortdale, they have the cheapest price i can find, and save the extra $200 dollars and invest in a new rear shock. A fox DHX 3 or 5 matches with the stinky nicely. Once the shock is upgraded, the stinky will last ya forever. PS were are u based?

Seeeriously easy Livin
    Are you planning on doing only dh/freeride, If you think you might be riding up the hill more than lifting or shuttling I think you might be a bit better off with a kona coiler or ironhorse 6 point.

Brackish