Im a newb... I need some help building my bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Im a newb... I need some help building my bike

Okay so in the past year i have purchased two GT bikes the first being a avalance and the next being a Marathon. Well, the GT's dont cut it for down hill and it seems like something breaks everytime the bike takes a small spill.
    I live in tucson and i ride a few local trails these do have some inclines but mostly downhill.
    Im just purchased a Iron Horse 7 point frame and i need help deciding on components.
    Please help me build my first bike the GT is not cutting it.
    Picture of the frame i bought

Rider, Builder, Dreamer
    Ok, in order to get good advice on any build there are several things you need to include:

-Height
    -Riding style (big hits, jump lines, urban assault, casual DH, DH racing, etc)
    -Budget (Be realistic. Saying you don't want to spend over $1500 on the whole build is impractical)
    -If you have a couple photos of you riding the things you want to ride, that helps as well. It makes people interested and gives them an idea of your "ball factor" for lack of a better term.

You included a couple of these things (kinda) already, but make sure to put in as much info as possible. That being said, here's where I would start:

-Azonic Outlaw wheelset (not the 2011s): They're cheap (under $250) and come in many colors. You will find it rather difficult to break them.

-Rockshox Totem Coil: You may be able to pick one up lightly used for around $450 or so. It's a beast, highly tunable, and super plush. Or you can go for a 2007 Marzhocchi 66. Any older and they're rally old. Any newer and there are huge quality control issues. Stay away from the Manitou forks. Fox is good, if you can afford them.

-Azonic 420 flat pedals are awesome. Lightweight, strong, around $80. Many colors available.