Help me pick a Full face helmet- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Help me pick a Full face helmet

I've been riding MTB for quite a few years and I'm starting to do a bit more downhill/free ride. Nothing crazy, but a full face just makes sense. I also have plans to get a trials motorcycle, so a helmet with good airflow at low speeds would be much appreciated compared to what I have now for the moto.

What helmets are top notch. I'm looking for something lite with great visibility and airflow and comfort. I'm willing to spend a decent amount of coin, but a good value is also a major consideration.

TIA, for any input.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    I've owned a Giro Remedy, Fox V3r(no longer made) and Troy Lee D3. Favorite by far has been the D3. I've never noticed any of them getting overly hot while riding. D3 was my favorite though because of the way it fit, felt the most secure and definitely the most comfortable with no pressure points. The fit and finish was better than the others as well, seems built to last. Everyone's dome is different though, so if you can try some on in person I would encourage it. I don't like overly "shouty" helmet graphics, which can be a problem with Troy Lee products. I like the new Fox Rampage Pro helmets for their understated paint schemes and the shell shape looks awesome, seems to be well made like the D3 also. If money isn't really a consideration, I would look at previous model year D3's and Rampage Pro's.

mtbr member
    Try them on before you decide, and be honest in regards to comfort and fit.