Going Too Big ?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Going Too Big ?

Hoodoo Voodoo?
    Jan 2007

Going Too Big ?

OK, I just got back from Whistler and I am hooked, so now it is time to buy a bike. My background is 25 years of cross-country riding, so I am a very good technical rider. I rode most everything Whistler could throw at me except for the big drops, I am 48 afterall. Anyway, I am considering either a Giant Glory 0 or the Giant Glory DH. My 16 year son tells me the Glory DH is too much bike for the old man. I rode a Rocky Mountain Switch and a Rocky Mountain RMX and definitely prefered the 8" travel over the 7" travel. My gut tells me the Glory 0 is enough bike for me, but boy does the Glory DH look sweet and it has gotten nothing but great reviews. Any insight would be grateful!
    Ride hard or ride home alone

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    i would go with the glory 0 cuz its a great freeride bike and its lighter and easier to control. but whatever you feel is right is what matters

Shop *****
    If you plan on doing ONLY DH, that's what you want to do. Glory DH.
    If you want to do drops hucks, and jumps, get a Glory 0.

That's what it comes down to. The Fox 40RC2 is a great DH fork, but not so much as a FR fork.
    Quote Originally Posted by <sL4yEr>RuLz
    All good suggestions. What kind of "ass-orderant" would you recommend?

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    the 40rc2 will take freeride just fine, just because its a great race fork doesn't mean its a bad FR fork. The main problem afflicting it effects it in both DH and freeride, which is that in their effort for light weight their lowers are like paper mache and the stanchions scratch easily.

the biggest difference between the two is that the glory DH is gonna be more stable and less flickable, and you'll feel alot more like you're sitting in the bike. The FR version feels like you're more on top of it.

just depends on what kind of riding you'll be doing. the DH wont handle sharp turns as well, but it'll do fine