Give your opinion on the best pedalable freeride/DJ capable bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Give your opinion on the best pedalable freeride/DJ capable bike

So, I am looking for a new bike. I'm ready to step it up from my current all-mountain setup (07 Blur LT) and get something that's more aggressive and more stable in gnarly steep terrain with big hits. I've already got a DH bike (V-10) for racing/lift access, so this has to work as my trail bike also (meaning the Bullit is probably out).

These criteria would seem to lead me to something like a Nomad, a Reign X, or Trek Remedy, but here's the catch: I recently started riding with some guys at a local slopestyle/dirt jump area and I'd really like my new bike to be somewhat capable on that too because I'm really psyched on it.

So, does anyone have experience riding any of the bikes I mentioned on dirt jumps? What about a Transition Bottlerocket? I've heard the 09 Nomads are not as free-ride worthy as the older generation, is this true? If I just have to have 3 bikes, one DH, one pedalable FR, and one DJ bike, just tell it to me straight.

Thanks in advance for any informed opinions you can throw down!

NICE KID...NICE

heres a few

Transition Bottlerocket
    Transition Double
    Jamis Parker
    Intense SS
    Trek Remedy
    Kona Cowan DS or a Bass

Get something with an air shock. That way you can boost the air for jumping and run some sage if you are trail riding or freeriding.
    "At that point man, your just riding your bike."

Transition

Pedalshop

percocet pioneer.
    bottlerocket

mtbr member
    Banshee Rampant
    Banshee Wildcard
    Mongoose Nugget
    Soul Cycles Matador
    Santa Cruz Blur 4X
    Specialized SX/SX Trail
    Plenty of bikes that could suit your criteria.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I have a reign X and used to have a bottlerocket. the Reign is much more pedal friendly but not as poppy as the bottlerocket. if you want to do SS type riding, bottlerocket is a great choice.