First time going to N* this weekend. Need advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2005

First time going to N* this weekend. Need advice

I'm a bit nervous about it. I ride an 8" bike and clean techy rocky trails like Jamieson Creek near D-Ville, but I don't jump and haven't dropped more than 3 or 4 feet since 2004 when I hurt myself pretty bad on a 10+ footer. What can I expect? What trails should I hit and what should I avoid? I have full upper body armor and a FF helmet I figure I should wear. What do you guys do for water without hydration packs?

I have a gig up there (I play music for a living) and I'll be alone.

Sorry to be such a clueless newbie but all my riding is stuff or shuttles. I've never done lifts before

Old,slow,still havin fun.
    Yes, wear the FF and pads.

N* has a cooler with water avail at the top of both lifts usually, and there is another inside the building at mid-mtn (next to the grill).

Just progress up through the Blue/Single Blacks and you should be OK.

Warm up on Mineshaft. Maybe hit Big Trees to Lower Pho Dog next.

There is a 2-3' drop on the "Daytona Berms" section of trail that feeds all the Single Black Diamond trails on the L side back to mid-mountain, but it too has a ride-around (it's just not as easy to see at speed).

Flameout is fun, but you are going to pedal a lot in the middle section.

I don't really jump, so I stay off Livewire. It IS fun though, but it is almost all big berms and jumps. Most of them are forgiving (tabletops).

I can't speak for Sticks and Stones, Karpiel or Dog Bone, but the "Big Daddy" drop on Boondocks has a ride-around and is marked.

Above all: have fun!

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    Thanks man. I think I'd be ok on most of the stuff there once I became familiar with the trails, except the bigger drops and jumps. I'll take your advice and work my way up. Gotta stay in one piece for the gig afterwards.

Professional Troll