Downhill Bike or Hybrib Gravity bike?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2019

Downhill Bike or Hybrib Gravity bike?

Hi all,
    i'm a beginner who just started mountain biking on an E-Bike (Levo), but rapidly got hooked. Very hooked.

While i enjoy All Mountain / Trail / Enduro riding with my e-bike, i'm absolutely planning to start hitting some bike parks for some vacations / weekends.

Thus, i'm considering a pure downhill bike as the Levo would not be adequate over there.

My only doubt is whether i should go for a pure downhill bike (i'm thinking at basic Al options of Tues or Sender) or one of the "hybrids" bikes out there, like the YT Capra or the Canyon Torque, bikes which are perfectly capable for freeriding / downhill, and certainly much more than capable for my basic skills.

Consider that:

- Given time constrains & personal skills i don't realistically expect to be able to throw big jumps and the likes anytime soon (years). The realistic usage will be on beginner-intermediate flow / enduro trails, with maybe some small jumps. This is why i'm questioning the pure downhill bike.

- I'm not planning on climbing with this: it will be purely bike park / shuttle dedicated.

Any input?

Thanks,

Vanni

mtbr member
    The standard answer is: Go rent a DH bike first, then decide.

While a full blown DH bike may be overkill for beginner (green) and intermediate (blue) trails at the bike park, a DH bike will allow you to progress faster than an AM/Enduro bike if you want to push your riding into the black diamond jump trails and steep tech, and you'll be safer doing so since DH bikes are a lot more forgiving (more margin for error).

Since your plans for this new bike don't include any uphill pedaling, that negates one of the primary reason many people nowdays are choosing 160-180mm Enduro/AM bikes where they would have gone with DH in the past.