DIY Hammerschmidt on 2010 Jedi, the easy way- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2011

DIY Hammerschmidt on 2010 Jedi, the easy way

Let me preface by saying I'm not a bike mechanic, the first bike I completely assembled from scratch was the Jedi, so as a disclaimer... feel free to follow this guide but if you damage anything by following the guide I won't take any responsibility, you will have to cut parts that will void warranties I'm sure . Also, everything measured out correctly when I did the install, you will need the BB and iscg mating surface to be flush. Mine happened to be after installing the guide. I can't make any promises the same will be true for YOUR bike and YOUR guide.

I use my Jedi for everything, and I have to earn my DH by climbing first (most of the year, we do have a resort ~4 hours away). I also use the Jedi as my AM/Trail/FR rig and unless I find a Canfield One for relatively cheap in the next few years I have absolutely NO desire to be on any other bike. I love the Jedi, if I could change anything it would be the total weight but... I love the 888's (butter!) and can't justify the cost of cutting weight anywhere else either.

I wasn't going to go with the HS but I managed to pick one up for pretty cheap on fleabay, so why not try it.

First, lets start with a bike, I think this one will do:

Now lets get rid of the old cranks and guide, much lighter!

About 1180g lighter in fact:

Don't be worried, we'll put that 1180g and then some back:

New guide: