Dhf ust or standard dhf 2 ply for tubeless- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Dhf ust or standard dhf 2 ply for tubeless

I have been running the dhf ust version on 823's for two years. Yesterday I popped both at the same time.

I have read different things where people say the standard version is better for tubeless. I would like to know why....and if you guys just mount them with stans or what.

My only issue with the ust version is they are hell getting on and off of the wheel because the sidewall is so stiff.
    I'm not riding at World Cup speeds so burping isn't a big concern.

Suggestions/thoughts??

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    I run a 2.5 EXO non UST on my AM bike with Stans and it worked great. I added the recommended amount and it held for about a year with no issues. I recently tore a knob off and had to throw a tube in it and noticed that there wasn't much Stans in there. I think it took more than usual to fill all the pores in the sidewall.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by meSSican View Post
    I run a 2.5 EXO non UST on my AM bike with Stans and it worked great. I added the recommended amount and it held for about a year with no issues. I recently tore a knob off and had to throw a tube in it and noticed that there wasn't much Stans in there. I think it took more than usual to fill all the pores in the sidewall.
    Running the same tyres ghetto tubeless (20" tubes). I've heard that ghetto is better than UST for tyre retention, but no personal experience with that.

Edit: Here's where I read that; Ridemonkey Ghetto tubeless thread. I have noticed that the Stans seems to glue the tube to the tyre, maybe that helps. Though as I said, I've never used UST nor blown a tyre off the rim, so I can't comment from personal experience.
    Last edited by cerebroside; 06-02-2013 at 01:35 PM.

Look at the time!