DH trails in orange county California?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

New question here. DH trails in orange county California?

I’m somewhat new to DH riding; only been riding for a couple of months now. I live in orange county and don’t know too many “downhill trails” most are just dirt trails, which are always fun too, but when you’re ridding a beast of a bike, you want to use it what to was built for.

so does anyone know of any good local trails near the OC, preferably beginner-intermediate trails.

And I also plan on traveling this summer to Yosemite and/or yellow stone and maybe big bear. Does anyone know of any trails up there, or any other places in California that would be fun to take a weekend trip to for DH, or a nice mountain trail?

thank you

mtbr member
    May 2007
    There are trails, but nobody should be telling you about them on the internet. For DH in socal, fight club rules apply. Find some local riders, make friends, then start asking around. If you fall in with the right people, you'll find plenty of stuff to ride.

That said, there is not a lot that really requires a DH bike around here. an aggressive-geo 5-6" bike can handle everything fairly well.

Big bear has good trails, but they don't allow big bikes on the lift (check their website for details). A full day of riding on a small bike there will do wonders for your bike handling skills though.

Finally, I know there's stuff in yosemite, but I haven't the faintest idea where. I would look into Mammoth and Northstar tahoe. both have good bike parks where you can actually use a DH bike. Mammoth has really been stepping up the quality of their park in recent years as well, and they should have a long season this year due to lack of snowfall. I believe they're opening on june 23rd, and possibly earlier depending on what the weather does.

PMarsh Thumbs Up!