DH Racers: What is the single most important factor that made you a faster rider?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

DH Racers: What is the single most important factor that made you a faster rider?

Open ended question to help those of us that would like to ride faster. What made YOU faster?

Was it equipment? A new bike, specific tires, brakes?

Was it training? Did an intensive cardio plan, or nutrition help you the most?

Was it instruction? Did you take a class with a trainer, which class, and how did it help?

Or, was it something else entirely?

I know it is likely a combination of all these factors, but what was the most impotant for YOU? I am only a beginner racer, currently on a 7" sled (Knolly DT, in the slack and long position), but I noticed a huge difference going from a Marz 66 to a Fox 40. But I know better cardio will yield much improved times, and be a whole lot cheaper. I placed 1st in my first two CAT3 races so moved up to CAT 2 and am middle of the pack. I want to be able to podium by the end of the year. Where should most of my emphasis (time and money) go?

Thanks in advance.
    Regional Race Manager, Knolly Bikes
    Washington, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Stickers and racing stripes.

That and practice. Ride with faster people, match them, pass them and find someone faster to ride with. I always try to stay just above my pucker factor - you know that point where you're saying ... "ohhhh shhhh... ", but don't quite do enough to finish it - stay right there. Because the next time you attempt whatever it is that made you start, you can do it better and finish your original statement.

Moose Member
    I just get bored of going slow through sections, and think "I wonder how fast I could go through this"

It's made me crash a time or two, but when it works out, its a great feeling.