A Cry for Help- Mtbr.com

Thread: A Cry for Help

mtbr member

Bonking ... not feelin' well A Cry for Help

What am I gonna do? I have been riding and racing xc for four years, and recently I've been bitten by the freeride bug (badly). But I have multiple dilemmas.
    -I am addicted, but I have never ridden anything but a few big (for xc) drops (2-3ft.) and a dual slalom course on my 4in. travel full suspension xc rig. Nothing else comes close to freeriding.
    -I am 14, so I have no money to invest in a freeride bike. My parents are the xc type also, my dad teeters on all-mountain, but they aren't interested in getting in to freeride.
    -Even if I did have a bike for it, I don't really have a place to ride that isn't a 2.5 hour drive away. There is a downhill course and the dual slalom mentioned above, which would be great until I progress, because neither one is great (the downhill course isn't much more than a downhill trail with big log pyramids and two 4-5ft. drops that are poorly built.)
    -Nobody else I know is even remotely interested in freeriding, so no one to get any experience from.

Is my obsession misplaced? I have freeriding posters in my room, but I have never done anything like that. I have a t-shirt that suggests I go big, but I don't. I bought Downhill Domination the PS2 game hoping that would quench my thirst, but it only made it worse. I don't see myself getting un-addicted soon, so is there any way to relieve me of my pain? HELP ME!!!

high school loser
    well if your detticated and really into it you'll find a way. since theres nothing around you just build it. fix up the downhill course and make it good. for a bike, save up and look into cheap freeride bikes like the haro x1, big hit spec, and some of the iron horse bikes. mtbr is also a good way to find people in your area to ride with too. hope this helps.
    member of the ZombiEKilleRSquadron
    "we kill zombies dead"