Calluses anyone? what to do?- Mtbr.com
    SMT Supporter

Bonking ... not feelin' well Calluses anyone? what to do?

Like one year ago I used to ride a lot with soft grips and no gloves, so I got some calluses where the fingers end at the palm..in all the fingers. It wasn't that bad because they helped to protect the hands and never hurt me......

The I started riding with Odi Ruffians and sombrios cartel (pretty bad, thick, uncomfortable.IMO)......then my fork on the DH bike got twisted in a bad crash.

So I started riding (some Dj and overall Street) a lot more my singlespeed hardtail sometimes without gloves(better feel for street) and most of the times with Fox sidewinder gloves because is cold over here...

Now that dont't have the calluses seems like the street riding (maybe the position of the handlebars, I dont really kow what is it) is harming my hands .....In a way that I only able to ride 40 minues and then I have to stop beacuse of the pain...

Is anyone having this sort of hand wounds or problems....

I would prefer the calllus back than this pain in the palm.

Suggestions? opinions? Jokes? everything is accepted
    "If you have a 50 dollar head, buy a 50 dollar helmet"

Bottlerockin'
    keep riding....your callusses will build up again.
    the more you ride the quicker theyll develope/the more protection you get on your hands

SuperInstigator
    Try not to let your calluses break; they'll have to build up again, of course, and that'll take a long time. But ride with gloves and don't stop unless they're about to rupture. You'll hands will one day be as tough as mine. I'll post some pictures later if you want. :

Good Luck,
    Tim
    I wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    My son carefully shaves them down with a bic razor, not to the quick or anything. By keeping them to a manageable size, they are less apt to crack or blister. But be careful!

SMT Supporter